At 15, Sam Spitz was on the top of the world. He pitched varsity baseball as a freshman, sprouted three inches in the off-season. Pro scouts even came calling.

Then he ate a chicken caeser salad that changed his life.

Within three days Sam was doubled over and headed to the emergency room. Sickened with antibiotic-resistant bacteria common to chicken, he was bleeding and wasting away. Antibiotic after antibiotic was tried. Each failed. His parents were frantic. A month later when his infection was finally under control, Sam lost 30 pounds and couldn’t jog without wheezing. His baseball career was over.

Thankfully, Sam recovered – and the Spitzes began taking an aggressive interest in where their food comes from.  Sam’s dad – a filmmaker – grabbed his camera to document their journey as they began attempting to grow their own backyard chickens and vegetables with no farming experience and a history of eating fast food.  Along the way, they found countless other ‘Food Patriots’ across the nation also working in their local communities to change the food system and the way we eat.

Join us on Wednesday, February 26th to check out the online premier of the Food Patriots movie to see the Spitz family’s often-hilarious and poignant journey to raise food in their backyard, and how it’s possible to change how you buy and eat food in America.  Here’s how to join the online screening:

Wednesday, February 26th

The movie begins at 8 p.m. EST
(7 p.m. CST, 6 p.m. MST, and 5 p.m. PST)

Go to:  www.foodpatriots.com/exclusive

Enter the password: consumer

After the screening we’ll also have a Twitter chat with the Spitzes, Consumers Union and other organizations on how you can help change our nation’s food system.  Use the hashtag #FoodPatsChat to follow the conversation.

See you at the movies!